Events and Seminars
The Nevada County Law Library presents Noon Time Legal Seminars, remotely via Zoom, from 12:00 – 1:00 p.m., on the third Tuesday. All seminars are designed for the general public and presented by local attorneys and/or experts in the field. The fee is $15/seminar, unless stated. Attorneys are welcome to attend, but no MCLE (Minimum Continuing Legal Education) credit is offered at this time.
|03/21/2023||Need a Restraining Order? Which One? ($15)||Maralee Nelder|
|05/16/2023||Understanding California's Mobile Home Residency Law ($15)||Steve McFarlane|
|07/18/2023||The California Homestead Exemption & Asset Protection: Keeping the Wolves at Bay ($15)||Jeff Guyton|
|09/19/2023||Cannabis Update for 2023 ($15)||Cameron Brady|
|TBA||Department of Child Support Services: An Overview and More (Free)||Paul Johnson|
Register through Jeannie Wood at email@example.com or call 530-362-5329. You may send a check, payable to Nevada County Law Library, and send it to 201 Church Street, Suite 9, Nevada City, CA 95959. Please include name, telephone number, and email address. We will confirm receipt of payment and the link to Zoom will be sent to you a few days before the seminar.
The Nevada County Superior Court's Self-Help Law Center and Family Law Facilitator are located within the Law Library. They provide legal information on court procedures, form packets with instructions, and alternatives to civil litigation, such as mediation. Areas of law include Adoption, Guardianship, Name Change, Unlawful Detainer (Eviction), Civil Harassment, Modification of Probation, Traffic, and Small Claims. The Law Library (firstname.lastname@example.org; 530-362-5329) and Self-Help Center (email@example.com; 530-362-5328) are open to the public, Monday – Thursday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. (closed 12:00 p.m. - 1:30 p.m.) and Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. We are also available to the public by phone and email.