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Introduction

The concept of the Nevada County DUI court is to increase the level of accountability to
high risk offenders by requiring them to participate in treatment combined with
education, judicial accountability, testing and formal supervision. It is expected that
these offenders will learn to manage their alcohol addiction, become more productive
citizens and present a far smaller risk of re-offending. The program is designed to
target repeat DUI offenders who live in Nevada County.

DUI court is modeled after the Nevada County’s successful drug court program and is a
collaboration of several agencies including the Superior Court, Probation Department,
Behavioral Health, the Public Defender’s Office, the District Attorney’s Office, the Grass
Valley Police Department, and local treatment providers. The program participants will
be given professional help in confronting substance abuse issues but also this program
will facilitate life changing improvements in the participant’s lives.

The DUI court program stresses the rebuilding of family ties, creating a stable living
environment, having a job, obtaining a GED and/or pursuing further education. A
person wishing to enter the DUI Court program must be open to treatment and ready to
acknowledge they have a substance abuse problem.

The DUI court program does not accept individuals with prior serious violence or strike
offenses, PC 290 registrants, or felony DUI involving injury. The intensive four-phase
program entails weekly group and individual sessions with a treatment provider along
with regular meetings and testing with probation to ensure sobriety and program
compliance. In addition, the participant will be expected to attend weekly self-help
meetings as well as enroll in a DMV approved SB-38 multiple DUI offender education
program. Upon successful completion of the DUI court, participants revert to informal
probation. Upon completion of SB38 programs and after expiration of at least 3 years,
participants can request early termination of probation.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Nevada County DUI Court Program is to promote public safety by
cost effective, judicially anchored, multi-disciplinary case management, and treatment
system for high risk/high need DUI offenders. The goal of the program is to reduce the
incidence of impaired driving that lead to crashes, injuries, and deaths, by rehabilitation,
judicial accountability, and community education.



Program Goals

Reduce recidivism among non-violent adult DUI offenders.

Reduce alcohol abuse among non-violent adult DUI offenders.

Increase the likelihood of successful rehabilitation through early, continuous, and
intensive judicially supervised treatment, random alcohol/drug testing and the use of
graduated incentives and sanctions.
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Target Population

The following are the eligibility criteria for entry into the Nevada County DUI court.

Qualifying factors:

Resides in Nevada County

Is at least 18 years old

Has been arrested for DUI

Has a history of alcohol/substance abuse
No propensity for violence

Multiple DUI Offenders

Felony DUI Offenders

Disqualifying factors:

Resides outside of Nevada County

Is less than 18 years old

Has a conviction for a serious violent offense
Has a felony DUI offense with injury

PC 290 registrant



Case Flow

The process begins with the arrest by law enforcement. The DA will expedite filing on
identified eligible cases and conduct record checks to confirm the arrestee has no prior
disqualifying offenses. The DA will file qualifying charges and indicate on the offer
memorandum if the case is or is not eligible for the DUI court program.

At arraignment, qualifying defendants who express an interest in DUI Court will be
encouraged to discuss the program with their attorney, and to request an assessment.

Upon recommendation of the DUI Court Team and concurrence of the court, the
defendant will enter a plea and be accepted into the DUI court. The court will order the
defendant to report to the Probation Department and treatment provider for orientation
and further assessment which will begin the “window period”. The “window period”
allows for a complete clinical assessment to confirm the defendant’s suitability for the
program. During the window period the team may determine the defendant is not
suitable for the program or the defendant may rescind his/her decision to participate.
Upon either, the defendant will be returned to court for case disposition or traditional
case processing.

Upon closure of the window period the defendant will be sentenced into the DUI Court.
Defendant will be remanded forthwith into custody to serve an initial period of custody
(minimum of 30 days actual), with the balance being suspended as set forth under
Paragraph 2 of the DUI Court Probation Terms. Upon release from custody, defendant
will begin program participation according to the requirements listed in the next section.
The program will last a minimum of 18 months.



Phases

The program is structured into four phases. Each phase has requirements that must be
met prior to the participant progressing to the next phase. All phases must be
successfully completed for graduation.

Orientation Phase 1: (Out-Client with SB-38 and 14-day window period)

Minimum length:
Testing:

Group counseling:
Self-help meetings:

Treatment plan:

Individual counseling:

Probation meetings:
Court appearances:

Out-Client DUI

90 days

3/week

1/month 2/month
3/week 2/month
2/week

1/week

weekly or bi-monthly

Develop with treatment
provider

Curfew 10:00 PM

Serve some portion of
mandatory jail sentence in
custody (minimum 30
actual days)

Phase 2: Treatment Plan Development

Minimum length:
Testing:

Group counseling:
Education
Self-help meetings
Probation meetings

Court appearances

e Treatment plan

Individual counseling:

Out-Client DUI

90 days

3/week

1/month 2/month

2/week 2/month

6 sessions 1 per week

2/week

1/week

Weekly or bi-monthly

Set personal/treatment
goals with provider
Seek sponsor

Clean and sober
recreation/fellowship
Curfew 10:00pm

6

6 sessions 1 per week



Phase 3: Ongoing Treatment

Minimum length:
Testing:

Individual counseling:
Group counseling:
Self-help meetings:
Probation meetings:
Court appearances:

e Treatment plan:

)

Out-Client
180 days

2/week
1/month
1/week
2/week
1/week

Weekly or bi-monthly, or as
directed by court
Review/update with
provider

Maintain sponsor

Clean and sober
Recreation/fellowship
Curfew Midnight
Employment or education

Attend MADD Panel Serve
balance of mandatory jail
sentence (may be served on
EM)

Any balance of jail above
mandatory minimum may be
suspended

2/month
2/month

Phase 4: Stabilization/Mentoring/Achievement/Graduation

Minimum length:
Testing:

Individual counseling:
Group counseling:
Self-help meetings:
Probation meetings:
Court appearances:

e Treatment plan:

Out-Client DUI
180 days

1/week

1/month
2/week
1/week

Monthly or as directed by

court

Review/update

Maintain sponsor

Clean and sober
Recreation/fellowship
Curfew None

FT Employment/education
8 hours community service
Mentor for new DUI court
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participant

Serve balance of mandatory jail
sentence (may be served on
EM)

Any balance of jail above
mandatory minimum may be
suspended



Supervision of the participants in DUI Court includes unannounced home visits that are

Probation Supervision

conducted at the probationer’s residence by Deputy Probation Officers or local law
enforcement agencies assigned to the program to ensure compliance with the terms

and conditions of Probation. Random alcohol and drug testing along with searches of
the participants’ person and property are performed during these contacts to monitor

adherence to the rules of the program

If a participant fails to make progress in the program and upon recommendation of the

Sanctions

team, any of the following sanctions may be imposed in response to non-compliant
behavior:

Verbal reprimand from the court

Essay on assigned topics (to be read in group)
Demotion to an earlier phase

Community service hours

Increased drug testing

Increased meeting with probation

Additional self help meetings

Increased frequency of treatment sessions
Increased individual treatment sessions

Travel restrictions

Curfew restrictions

Sober Living

Residential treatment

Incarceration (up to 72 hours)

Termination from program and suspended sentence imposed

Incentives

Continued progress through the program may merit any of the following incentives:

Verbal praise from the court and DUI court teams
Certificates of recognition

Eligibility to fish in fishbowl (i.e. movie tickets, gift certificates)
Phase advancements

Decreased court visits

Possible fine reduction

Reduction of probation term



Graduation

Acceptable level of sobriety (to include no positive alcohol/drug tests, including
missed and tampered tests, for a minimum of 180 consecutive days) as
determined by the treatment team

Obtained gainful, consistent employment or sufficiently involved in a
vocational/educational training program as determined by the treatment team
Maintained consistent attendance at all court appearances and treatment team
appointments

No unexcused absences from scheduled services for 45 consecutive days
Achieved stable living arrangements and healthy interpersonal relationships as
determined by the treatment team

Achieved an understanding of personal problems of addiction, criminal behavior,
and relapse prevention as demonstrated through a written graduation application
Definitive aftercare plan which may include self-help meetings, HCA
outpatient counseling, group attendance at former contract residential program,
or active participation in DUI Court Alumni Association

Fulfilment of goals as stated in your individual treatment plan or positive
progress toward appropriate long-term life goals

Proof of completion of required community service hours

Proof of attendance at all other events or courses as required by the DUI Court
Judge

Completion of statutory minimum jail sentence

Proof of completion of GED/Diploma or an approved equivalent program as
required by the DUI Court Judge

10



Criteria That May Result in Termination

New DUI (for any substance)

Arrest for sales, violence (or any other disqualifying factor)
Fails to engage/thrive in treatment

Absconds (over one year)

Driving with a measurable amount of alcohol

Dishonesty

Serious violations of program rules

11



HEALTH CARE AGENCY
DUI COURT EVALUATION

Identifying Information

Date: Assessed by:
Last: First: Mi: DOB:
Street Address: Phone #:
City & Zip: Ethnicity:
Drug/Alcohol History
DRUG/ALC | FREQUENCY | DOSE RUN ROUTE AGE @ 1% YRS OF USE
1
2
3
OTHER
Longest period of sobriety: When:

Methods used to maintain sobriety:

Self-Help meeting experience:

Treatment programs: Residential:

History of methadone/antibuse or other meds:

Bio-Psychosocial Factors

Current support system:

Who is in the home:

Children (how many & ages): Who has custody:

Mental illness history:

Past or current psychotropic meds:

Hospitalizations:

Suicidal Ideation (past/current):

Orientation (time, person, place):

Chronic medical conditions:

Medication required & type:

Employment

Current employment: Employment specialties:

Past employment:

Longest period of employment:

12




Government aid (SSI, SSDI, Medi-Cal, Welfare, AFDC, Cal-works):

Factors preventing employment:

Level of education: Factors preventing school:

Areas of Concern

O Personal Relationships O Emotional O Marital
O Financial O Housing O Family
O Child Rearing O Sexual O Other:
Assessment
Recommend for the program O Yes O No

Comments (include reasons for not recommending the candidate):

Additional questions to consider:

How many DUI’'s? Dates? BAL’s?

Do you have a problem with drugs/alcohol? What will you use for transportation?

Has anyone ever told you that you have a problem with drugs/alcohol?

How will this program help you?

Motivation level for change: None Low Moderate High

Therapist signature: Date:

13




Superior Court of California, County of Nevada
DUI Court

Case No. People v.

DUI Drug Court Plea Agreement

1. If this plea is allowed by the Court, | agree to give up the rights necessary to carry out the agreement
set forth herein and in the Plea Forms (Tahl Forms) and Probation Addendum executed along with this
Plea Agreement. | have consulted with counsel, and/or feel that | understand the DUI Drug Court
program and feel that it is a program in which | can be successful and which will benefit me. | accept the
consequences outlined below and on pages 1, 2, 3 of the Plea Forms and Probation Addendum,
incorporated by reference herein.

2. | agree that the DUI Drug Court program begins with my signature on this form, and that | am subject
to all the requirements of the program as of my signature. Nonetheless, | understand that, within
Fourteen (14) calendar days of this plea (Window Period), | may withdraw from the DUI Drug Court
Program, withdraw this plea of guilty or admission of probation violation and have my Constitutional and
procedural rights reinstated. The People agree that, under these circumstances, neither this plea nor this
agreement can be used against me as evidence in this case. | understand | must personally appear
before this court to withdraw from the DUI Court and to withdraw my plea.

3. | further understand that within Fourteen (14) calendar days of this plea (Window Period), the court
may terminate my participation in the DUI Court Program for reasons of unsuitability or for reasons of
non-compliance with the entry requirements of the program. If this happens, | can withdraw my plea of
guilty, if | wish, and enter a new plea of not guilty.

4. At any time during my participation with the DUI Court, if | have provided false information regarding
my identity, or if | have suffered disqualifying convictions, or have pending criminal charges in another
court which have not been disclosed to the DUI Court, | understand that | can be terminated from the
program and sentenced consistent with the new information. Terminations following the Window Period
do not provide for the withdrawal of plea, and will be accompanied by probation terms and a jail
sentence, consistent with the terms of my plea.

5. | agree to abide by the rules and regulations of the DUl Court Program and of the Probation
Department, treatment provider, and any other organization which provides services to me during the
DUI Court Program. | agree not to commit any crimes, not to use or possess alcoholic beverages, not to
use or possess any controlled substances or other contraband, not to possess any deadly or dangerous
weapons, not to frequent establishments where the primary item for sale is alcoholic beverages and not
to associate with persons who are possessing, using, or under the influence of controlled substances or
are using or under the influence of alcohol.

6. | understand that, during my participation in the DUI Court, if | fail to comply with the rules and
regulations of the DUI Court Program (including the items listed in 5 above), | would be subject to
sanctions by the court, or termination depending on the severity of the violation and the number of
violations which had come before. The decision of the court is final on all sanctions to be imposed.
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7. 1 understand that one sanction which may be imposed is to be taken into custody (jail). | also
understand that | have a right to a probation violation to verify the violation for which | am being
sanctioned. At that hearing | have a right to an attorney, to confront and cross examine any witnesses
against me, to subpoena witnesses to testify on my behalf, and testify myself or remain silent. | hereby
give up the right to a probation hearing when | am taken into custody for a period of time not to exceed
72 hours. When | am taken into custody for less than 72 hours this will be considered a SANCTION but
NOT a PROBATION VIOLATION.

8. | understand at the successful conclusion of the DUI Court, probation will revert to informal, and upon
proof of successful completion of both the DUI Court and the SB-38 multiple offender program without
any intervening probation violations and the passage of at least 3 years, | may petition the court for my
probation to be terminated, (even if this occurs prior to the time period called for in the plea forms). |
understand there will be no dismissal of charges.

9. | understand that the DUI Court Program requires complete abstinence from drugs and alcohol. This
includes not possessing or using any drugs or alcohol (including prescription and over the counter drugs
unless possessed/used with the express permission of Probation). | understand | may not have alcohol
within my residence in which | live, (even though | may share the residence with other adults).

10. I understand that | will be drug and/or alcohol tested regularly and randomly. A positive test for any
drug, alcohol or illegal substance will be a dirty test for which | will be sanctioned. A missed test or a
failure to test, (without permission) will be considered a dirty test for which | will be sanctioned. Any
evidence of adulteration, flushing, or efforts to mask or change a test result will be considered a dirty test
for which | will be sanctioned.

11. I understand that California Law provides for mandatory license suspensions on second and third
DUI cases and requires proof of financial responsibility or minimum insurance. During participation in the
DUI Court program | will not drive a car unless | have a valid California driver’s license and insurance as
required by law. | understand my violation of these requirements is a serious violation of the DUl Court
rules for which | can be sanctioned or terminated from the program.

12. | understand that one of the requirements of the DUI Drug Court is to enroll in and complete a DMV
approved multiple offender program (SB-38), | will remain in this program until completion and will
immediately notify my probation officer and the court if | am terminated from the program or if |
discontinue the program for any reason.

13. DUI cases with priors have mandatory jail sentences, (VC23542 — 10 days, VC 23546 - 120 days,
VC 23550(a) 16/2/3 prison or 180 days). | understand that these sentences exist and that despite
participating in the DUI Court, | will have to serve these sentences in some fashion prior to graduation
from the program. | understand that it is anticipated by the court and the program, that | will serve at least
30 days in actual custody upon sentencing, but that any balance of the mandatory minimum may be
served on electronic monitoring (EM) during the term of a successful program. | understand that if | am
to do EM, | must qualify for and serve the sentence under the direction of the Nevada County Probation
Department. | understand that | will not receive any custody credits for being involved in the DUI Court
Program unless | actually serve custody time before or during the program.

14. The services of the Public Defender, Probation, Behavioral Health, treatment provider, and any
outside agencies which may provide services to the DUI Court, have expenses attached to them. These
agencies and/or DUI Court will pass on the expenses (of providing these services to the participants of
DUI Court) on an ability to pay basis. Each participant must undergo a financial assessment to
determine the amount of contribution they will make toward the cost of services provided in the program.

15



Each participant must come to an agreement on these costs prior to graduation from the program
(however payments of the amount agreed upon may continue after graduation). In the event a
participant feels an assessment is unfair, that issue may be brought to the court for reconsideration. The
decision of the court will be final. A willful failure to pay assessment(s) can delay graduation. A willful
failure to pay assessments can be enforced as a probation violation. In no event will probation be ended
prior to payment of all assessments.

15. Part of DUI Court’s treatment process may include; a) the use of an alcohol monitoring device, b)
requirement that a participant live in a sober living home, or c) require a participant to reside in a
residential treatment program. These increased levels of treatment are imposed not as a punishment
but in an attempt to better address the addiction issues of an individual participant. Since they are not
imposed as punishment, time spent in these treatment modalities will not reduce custody time which may
be required either by state law or against the stayed time imposed at the time of plea. The court retains
the right to give credits for time spent in a residential treatment program. In signing this agreement and
accepting the DUI Court program, | agree to waive any custody time credits which might otherwise exist
for a court’s imposition of these probation obligations.

Dated:
Defendant
Defense Attorney
Witnessed:
Dated:

4/1/11
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Notice to Attorneys with clients entering DUI Court

Once your client enters his/her plea of guilty and is sentenced into the DUI Court Program, his/her case
will continue to come back to court on a regular basis for progress reviews. Court appearances will be bi-weekly at
the outset and will be reduced as the program continues and the participant progresses in the program. Ultimately
court appearances will occur at a frequency of about once per month.

It is up to you and your client to decide whether you will continue to appear with the participant each time
the case comes to court. Unfortunately, because of the quantity of participants in the program and the number of
appearances by each participant, the Court cannot make special accommodations for counsel and their schedules.
If a participant is scheduled for a DUI Court appearance, the court will proceed with that appearance at the time
scheduled, whether or not the attorney is present. If the attorney is not present, the attorney’s presence will be
deemed waived. At each progress review/court appearance participants may be subject to sanctions without a
hearing and a sanction may include incarceration up to 72 hours.

One solution for this situation is for the attorney to withdraw as attorney of record as of the expiration of
the fourteen day “Window Period”, when the client has been fully accepted into the program. The Nevada
County Public Defender’s Office has a deputy assigned to the DUI Court and will have the court staffed during its
times of operation. The Nevada County Public Defender’s Office will not make special appearances on these cases,
but will accept appointment as attorney of record, for defendants who are participants in this program.

Please mark your election below.
[ ] Wel(client and attorney) agree that the attorney is to be relieved as of the time the client has been accepted
into the DUI Court Program (end of Window Period and commencement of phase 1) and the Nevada County
Public Defender’s Office is to be appointed as the attorney of Record.
[ ] We agree that the attorney will not be relieved.

[ 1Iagree to pay the Public Defender fee as ordered by the court.

Dated:

Attorney: (print name)

Signed
Client:  (print name)

Signed

NCPD: accepted

Judge: Approved
(4/1/11)
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DUI COURT
ORIENTATION PHASE TEST

The following is a True/False test that you must complete during the Orientation Phase of the DUI Court
program. Many of the answers can be found in your Participant’'s Handbook; however, many answers are not
in the handbook. You are expected to find the answers through your own research; and as such, you may
seek answers by asking any member of the DUI Court team such as your Therapist, Probation Officer,
Attorney, etc. Also, you may seek answers from other participants in the program. When you are ready to
request advancement into Phase One, you must first review the correct answers of this test with your CoRR

counselor.

Instructions

Read each of the following statements. Circle “T” for True and “F” for False for each of the statements based
on your research. When complete, review your answers with your therapist.

1.

2.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F
T F

| may use over-the-counter medication as long as it doesn’t contain alcohol.
Participation in the DUI Court program is voluntary and is my personal choice.
Forging 12-step cards is a serious violation of DUI court rules.

Sanctions are a means of promoting positive behavior in DUI Court.

Alcohol is a drug.

It is okay for me to continue to associate with anyone who uses drugs or drinks as long as
they don’t do it in front of me.

It is okay to miss a drug test as long as | call Probation or CoRR ahead of time.

If | am attending my best friend’s wedding, | can have one glass of wine to toast the new
couple.

| can exercise on a regular basis to promote good health and good habits.

I must complete the Alcohol and Recovery and Relapse Prevention courses at CoRR as a
requirement to graduate.

Marijuana is not a drug.

I can move anywhere as long as | notify my Probation Officer within seven days.

| must be ready to provide both a breath and adequate urine sample each time | test.
I may not possess any dangerous or deadly weapons.

| need a sponsor before | can be promoted to second phase.

18



16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

28.

29.

30.

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

36.

37.

38.

During the Orientation Phase, | need to attend only four 12-step meetings per week.
Drug testing can be increased or decreased at any time.

In order to graduate from DUI Court, | must be employed full-time or display meaningful
progress toward an educational goal.

Before advancing in the program, | must demonstrate a positive adjustment to treatment,
which includes having a positive attitude towards staff.

| must report as directed to my Probation Officer even if | am having a bad day. i.e. bad
weather, heavy traffic, missed my bus, etc.

I must drug test 3 times per week in the Orientation phase and in Phase 1.
It is ok to live with someone who uses drugs.
If | live with someone on probation or parole, | do not need to tell my Probation Officer.

Any Peace Officer (Probation Officer, Police Officer, Sheriff Deputy, etc.) can search me
and my property at any time with or without a search warrant.

If | cannot give an adequate urine sample when asked, it will be considered the same as a
dirty test.

If the police stop me for a traffic violation, | do not need to tell my Probation Officer.
I may use prescription medications without informing a member of the DUI Court team.

If | am allowed to leave the area for an extended period of time, | am responsible for the
condition of the SCRAM device when | return.

Only the Judge can excuse me from a Court appearance.
On average, it takes a minimum of 12 months to complete the DUI Court program.

The threat of losing my job is a sufficient reason to not show up for a DUI Court
appointment.

If | test positive for a drug because | used an herbal supplement or a diet aid, it won’t count
against me if | bring in the bottle.

| am only required to be drug tested during scheduled testing times.
The DUI Court program is free.
| can be late for curfew as long as | have a good reason.

Empty bottles of alcoholic beverages are okay to have in my home as long as they are
uncapped, clean and dry.

Both NA and AA meetings can be counted as my 12-Step meeting ordered by the court.

If I hear that my Probation Officer or CoRR therapist is not in the office on the day that | am
to report, it is okay not to go in.
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39. T F In Phase lll, | will be required to serve any stayed jail sentences on electronic confinement.
40. T F It is my responsibility to be familiar with all the rules and policies of DUI Court.

41. T F If | am ordered to do something by the Judge that isn’t in the Participant’'s Handbook, |
don’t have to do it.

42. T F It is okay to ride my bicycle while intoxicated because it is safer than driving a car.

43. T F If  am in DUI Court it is okay to drive even if my license is suspended.

44, T F If | fail to provide a urine test for any reason, it will be considered a “dirty” test.

45, T F | can change my therapist or Probation Officer, if | feel she/he is being unfair.

46. T F | may wear shorts to court.

47. T F I may not leave the state without prior approval of my Probation Officer.

48. T F I muhst receive approval from my Probation Officer in order to spend the night away from
my home.

| have reviewed the correct answers to this Orientation Phase test with my assigned therapist. |
understand the rules and policies of the DUI Court program as outlined in the Participant’s Handbook.
Therefore, | wish to request advancement into Phase One of the program.

Name (Print) Signature Date

Therapist Signature Date
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PHASE |l

REQUEST
DUI COURT
DATE:
NAME:
DOE:
COUNSELOR:

PROBATION OFFICER:

PRESENT PHASE: Phase 1 EFFECTIVE DATE:

Phase 1 Orientation: Indoctrination, Assessment & Assimilation
LENGTH: 90 Day Minimum

Yes No  Advancement Criteria:
(A) Drug/alcohol test 3 times per week with no positive test results
(including missed or tampered tests) for 30 consecutive days. Date of last positive

test:

(B) No unexcused absences from scheduled counseling sessions
for 14 consecutive days. Date of last unexcused absence

(C) Reports to Probation Department as instructed by their Probation
Officer.

(D) Documented required minimum attendance at five to seven self-help
meetings for at least one month.

(E) Acknowledgement of extent of alcohol/substance abuse problem and a
commitment to live an alcohol and drug free lifestyle.

(F) Completion of Orientation Test and submittal of Phase | request.
(G) Completion of financial evaluation/TB test/HIV education with CoRR.
(H) Has served initial custody time as ordered by court (minimum of 30 actual days)

Comments:
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PHASE Ill REQUEST
DUI COURT

DATE:

NAME:

DOE:

COUNSELOR:

PROBATION OFFICER:

PRESENT PHASE: Phase | EFFECTIVE DATE:

PHASE II: Treatment Plan Development LENGTH: 180 Days Minimum

Yes No Advancement Criteria:

(A) Drug/alcohol test 3 times per week with no positive test results
(including missed or tampered tests) for at least 90 consecutive days.

Date of last positive test:

(B) No unexcused absences from scheduled services for 21 consecutive
days. Date of last unexcused absence

(C) Report to Probation Department as instructed by the Probation
Officer.

(D) Employed or positive response to vocational/educational goals.

(E) Documented required minimum attendance at four self-help meetings
for at least 90 days.

(F) Verbal expression of understanding the self-help concepts. Must be
working with a self-help sponsor.

(G) Acknowledgement of severity of alcohol/substance abuse problem
and a commitment to live an alcohol and drug-free lifestyle.

(H) Demonstration of a positive adjustment to treatment.
(I) Actively making some form of payment to Probation & CoRR.
(J) Submittal of written Phase Ill advancement request.

Comments: Explain how DUI Court has changed your life. Include what you
have learned in Phase Il and why you are ready to be advanced to Phase Ill. Please use
additional pages for comments.
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PHASE IV

REQUEST
DUI COURT

DATE:

NAME:

DOE:

COUNSELOR:

PROBATION OFFICER:

PRESENT PHASE: Phase llI EFFECTIVE DATE:

PHASE Illl: On-going treatment LENGTH: 180 Days Minimum
Yes No Advancement Criteria:

(A) No positive alcohol/drug tests (including missed or tampered tests) for
at least 120 consecutive days. Date of last positive test:

(B) No unexcused absences from scheduled services for 30 consecutive
days. Date of last unexcused absence

(C) Report to Probation Department as instructed by their Probation
Officer.

(D) Employed or actively pursuing vocational/educational goals.

(E) Documented attendance of a minimum of three self-help meetings per
week for at least 90 days.

(F) Verbal expression of understanding of 12-step concepts. Actively
working with a sponsor.

(F) Progress towards treatment plan goals and demonstration of a
positive adjustment to ongoing treatment.

(G) Submittal of written Phase IV advancement request.

(I) Current with financial obligations or making positive progress towards
payments with CoRR and Probation.

(J) Enrollment in GED or Diploma program, if needed.

(H) Has served mandatory jail time if any.

Comments: Explain how DUI Court has changed your life. Include what you
have learned in Phase |, I, & Ill. Why you think you are ready to be advanced to Phase IV.
Please use the separate page provided for your comments.
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DUI COURT APPLICATION FOR GRADUATION|

Name: Date:

DOB:

Address: City: Zip:

Phone numbers:

\ How long have you been in DUI Court?

\ How long have you been clean and sober?

Name of employer:

How long have you been at this job? Since:

Who do you live with?

Is this a sober living environment?

What have you learned while you have been in DUl Court?  See attached

How has DUI Court helped you? See attached

What are your plans for the future? See attached

If you remain in a counseling program after graduation, which one? See attached
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EtG DUI Court Client Contract

URINE ABSTINENCE TESTING AND INCIDENTAL ALCOHOL
EXPOSURE CONTRACT

Recent advances in the science of alcohol detection in urine have greatly increased the ability to detect even trace
amounts of alcohol consumption. In addition, these tests are capable of detecting alcohol ingestion for significantly longer
periods of time after a drinking episode. Because these tests are sensitive, in rare circumstances, exposure to non-
beverage alcohol sources can result in detectible levels of alcohol (or its breakdown products). In order to preserve the
integrity of the DUI Court testing program, it has become necessary for us to restrict and/or advise participants regarding
the use of certain alcohol-containing products.

It is YOUR responsibility to limit your exposure to the products and substances detailed below that contain ethyl alcohol.
It is YOUR responsibility to read product labels, to know what is contained in the products you use and consume and to
stop and inspect these products BEFORE you use them. Use of the products detailed below in violation of this
contract will NOT be allowed as an excuse for a positive test result. When in doubt, don’t use, consume, or

apply.

Cough syrups and other liquid medications: DUl Court participants have always been prohibited from using alcohol
containing cough/cold syrups, such as Nyquil. Other cough syrup brands and numerous other liquid medications, rely
upon ethyl alcohol as a solvent. DUI Court participants are required to read product labels carefully to determine if they
contain ethyl alcohol (ethanol). All prescription and over-the-counter medications should be reviewed with your case
manager before use. Information on the composition of prescription medications should be available upon request from
your pharmacist. Non-alcohol containing cough and cold remedies are readily available at most pharmacies and major
retail stores.

Non-Alcoholic Beer and Wine: Although legally considered non-alcoholic, NA beers (e.g. O’Douls, Sharps) do contain a
residual amount of alcohol that may result in a positive test result for alcohol, if consumed. DUI Court participants are not
permitted to ingest NA beer or NA wine.

Food and Other Ingestible Products: There are numerous other consumable products that contain ethyl alcohol that
could result in a positive test for alcohol. Flavoring extracts, such as vanilla or almond extract, and liquid herbal extracts
(such as Ginko Biloba), could result in a positive screen for alcohol or its breakdown products. Communion wine, food
cooked with wine, and flambé dishes (alcohol poured over a food and ignited such as cherries jubilee, baked Alaska) must
be avoided. Read carefully the labels on any liquid herbal or homeopathic remedy and do not ingest without approval
from your Probation Officer or Drug and Alcohol Counselor.

Mouthwash and Breath Strips: Most mouthwashes (Listerine, Cepacol, etc) and other breath cleansing products
contain ethyl alcohol. The use of mouthwashes containing ethyl alcohol can produce a positive test result. Drug Court
participants are required to read product labels and educate themselves as to whether a mouthwash product contains
ethyl alcohol. Use of ethyl alcohol-containing mouthwashes and breath strips by DUI Court participants is not permitted.
Non-alcohol mouthwashes are readily available and are an acceptable alternative. If you have questions about a
particular product, bring it in to discuss with your Probation Officer or Drug and Alcohol Counselor.

Hand Sanitizers: Hand sanitizers (e.g. Purell, Germex, etc.) and other antiseptic gels and foams used to disinfect hands
contain up to 70% ethyl alcohol. Excessive, unnecessary, or repeated use of these products could result in a positive
urine test. Hand washing with soap and water are just as effective for killing germs.

Hygiene Products: Aftershaves and colognes, hair sprays and mousse, astringents, insecticides (bug sprays such as
Off) and some body washes contain ethyl alcohol. While it is unlikely that limited use of these products would result in a
positive test for alcohol (or its breakdown products) excessive, unnecessary or repeated use of these products could
affect test results. Participants must use such products sparingly to avoid reaching detection levels. Just as the court
requires DI Court participants to regulate their fluid intake to avoid dilute urine samples, it is likewise incumbent upon each
participant to limit their use of topically applied (on the skin) products containing ethyl alcohol.

Solvents and Lacquers: Many solvents, lacquers and surface preparation products used in industry, construction, and
the home, contain ethyl alcohol. Both excessive inhalation of vapors, and topical exposure to such products, can
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potentially cause a positive test result for alcohol. As with the products noted above, DUI Court participants must educate
themselves as to the ingredients in the products they are using. There are alternatives to nearly any item containing ethyl
alcohol. Frequency of use and duration of exposure to such products should be kept to a minimum. A positive result will
not be excused by reference to use an alcohol-based solvent. If you are in employment where contact with such products
cannot be avoided, you need to discuss this with your Probation Officer or Alcohol and Drug Counselor. Do not wait for a
positive test result to do so.

Remember! When in doubt, don’t use, consume, or apply.

| HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND MY RESPONSIBILITIES:

PARTICIPANT DATE
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DUI Court PROBATION TERMS

Name: Case No:

Defendant is to serve 5 years Probation. Initially and during the term of DUI Court participation, probation
will be Formal (Supervised). Upon graduation from the DUI Court, Probation will revert to informal
probation.(initials)

PROBATION SHALL BE ON THE FOLLOWING TERMS:

1. Violate no law (excluding infractions). (initials)
2. Complete days in jail as follows:

Minimum of 30 actual days to be served in custody commencing forthwith. Balance of statutorily
mandated minimum term of to be served during Phases 3 & 4 of the DUI Court Program. Em
(electric monitoring) will be available to most participants. The DUI Court will advise all participants during
the “window period” of their eligibility for EM. days remaining custody time shall be stayed pending
successful completion of DUI Court.

3. Pay the following fines and fees (required by law):
$540 + penalty assessment ($1,944)
($100 Probation Revocation Fee Suspended)
$100 State Restitution Fund Fine
$50 Alcohol Abuse Education Fee (PC 1463.25)
$40 Court Security Fee
$30 Criminal Conviction Assessment Fee (GC70373, per count)
$4 Air Fee
$25 Arrest Fee
$35 Installment Account Fee

Total $2,228.00
The payment of fines and fees shall be supervised by probation. Participants shall create a plan with the

assistance of their probation officer to complete payment within a 36 month period. (initials)

—S@ o o0 o

OTHER TERMS OF PROBATION:

4. Do not drive without a valid California Driver’s License and proof of insurance in your
possession. (initials)

5. Do not own, use or possess alcoholic beverages or empty beverage containers. Do not associate with
persons using or under the influence of alcohol. Do not go where alcohol is the primary item for sale
(bars & liquor stores). (initials)

6. Do not drive with any measurable amount of alcohol in your system or any other intoxicating
substance in your system. An “intoxicating substance” is any substance which would impair a person’s
mental or physical ability to any degree. It includes legal, illegal, and over-the-counter drugs and
medications. (initials)

7. Submit to a chemical test (blood or breath) as requested by any peace officer or (blood, breath, or
urine) as requested by any probation officer. (initials)

8. Submit to Search and Seizure of your person and property, including residence, premises, container, or
vehicle under your control, at any time of the day or night, by any peace or probation officer, with or
without a warrant, and with our without probable cause. (initials)

9. Cooperate with your Probation Officer and the DUI Court Team in any plan for psychological,
psychiatric, alcohol and/or drug treatment. (initials)

28



10.
11.
12.
13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Seek training, schooling, or employment, and maintain a residence and associates as approved by your
Probation Officer. (initials)

Attend and complete a DMV approved multiple offender program (SB-38). (initials)

Attend and complete a Victim Impact Panel. (initials)

Obey all laws, orders, rules, and regulations of the Probation Department, The DUI Court, treatment
provider, and jail. (initials)

Pay restitution in an amount (determined by the court) and manner as required by the Collections
Department. (If your arrest included injury to person(s) or property). (If you contest the amount of
restitution required by the court, you must request a hearing within 30 days of notice of the amount of
restitution required).

Be advised that upon a second conviction for DUI within 10 years your driving privilege will be
suspended by DMV for 2 years. Upon a third conviction for DUI within 10 years your driving privilege
will be revoked by DMV for 3 years. You may be eligible for a restricted license before the end of this
period. The final decision to issue a license or restricted license is with DMV. It is the participant’s
obligation to provide proof to the court that DMV is ready and willing to issue a restricted license.
(initials)

Use your true name and DOB in dealing with the court, law enforcement, and DMV. Do not apply for
a driver’s license in any other name or any other state without the court’s

permission.(initials)

Comply with the DUI COURT PLEA AGREEMENT and the reasonable direction of the DUI Court
Team. (initials)

Complete financial assessments with Probation, Collections, and your treatment provider and pay
the reasonable cost of each. In addition, pay the reasonable fees of the Public Defender (if you use their
services). All financial assessments will be determined on an ability to pay basis. If you disagree with
the amount assessed by any of these agencies, you have a right to request a hearing before the Judge.
You must apply for a hearing within 30 days of being assessed. (initials)

I understand the court may modify the conditions of probation (with reasonable notice). I also

understand that | have a right to request the court to modify or strike conditions of probation that | feel are
unreasonable. The decision of the court will be final. (initials)

| HAVE READ THESE CONDITIONS OF PROBATION AND HAVE READ THE DUI COURT
PLEA AGREEMENT. | AGREE TO THESE TERMS.

Date:

Signed:

Defendant
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COMMUNITY RE-ENTRY PHASE

The community re-entry phase consists of participation in optional self-help
groups, employment, and other areas of self-improvement.
The Client is monitored by attending a one hour re- entry group, monthly for six

months.
Client Name: Client No.
Date of entry into Re-Entry: _ Estimated Date of Completion:
Date of 1% 2" 3™ 4" 5t 6"

This section to be completed by the Client, check all that apply:

—

. Employment: [0 employed [ unemployed O interviewing [0 mailing resumes [ newspapers

Progress:

N

. Family Relationships: O improving O increased communication O identifying problems

Progress:

3. Community Resources: [0 1 Stop Office O church O county programs [ work/education schools
4. Optional Self-Help: O attending AA O NA O CODA O other O weekly O bi-weekly

5. Personal Goals: O improvement in — positive thinking 0O behavior [ attitude [ sober lifestyle

6. Relapse Prevention: O identifying risks O lifestyle changes O recognizing symptoms
Client’s Signature: Date:
Attitude Behavior
Communication
O Enthusiastic O Appropriate; aware of responsibilities O Extremely verbal
O Cooperative as a group member O Moderately verbal
O Passive-Resistive O Behaves appropriately O Quiet; needs probes
O Uncooperative O Unsure of group member role O No communication

O Inappropriate; disruptive to group process

Counselor:
Date:
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DUI Court Participant Instructions

1. You have been ordered to keep the following appointments:

Probation Appointment Time
109 % North Pine St.

Nevada City, CA

(530) 265-1200

Community Recovery Resources
(CoRR)

440 Henderson St.

Grass Valley, CA

(530) 273-9541

Failure to keep these appointments, may result in your “OR” being revoked and a warrant being
issued for your arrest.

2. What you will need for your intake appointment at CoRR:
Income verification, please provide one or more of the following:

Income tax return from prior calendar year

Current pay vouchers or pay stubs

Bank statement from prior two months

Award letter from county welfare such as Notice of Action or Passport to Services
Letter from employer on employer letterhead

AN NN

YOU WILL NOT BE OFFICALLY ADMITTED INTO TREATMENT WITHOUT THE APPROPRIATE
FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS AS SPECIFIED ABOVE.

4. Picture identification or drivers license.
5. Insurance card (if applicable) such as; Medi-Cal, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, etc.
6. Referral paperwork (if applicable) from court, probation, CPS, DOT, etc.

7. Keep track of all self-help meetings on a meeting log sheet or calendar and bring them to all your
court appearances! Failure to do so may result in the revocation of your “OR” release.
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